Peachy Flippin’ Keen (A Southern Eclectic Novella #1.5) by Molly Harper

Author’s Synopsis

A prank war erupts in Lake Sackett, Georgia and coroner Frankie McCready has to turn to the gorgeous but surly new sheriff for help in Molly Harper’s newest Southern Eclectic novella, perfect for fans of Kristan Higgins and Amy E. Reichert.

The McCready Family Funeral Home and Bait Shop has crickets running rampant in the store and hot sauce in the Snack Shack’s ketchup bottles. But as the county coroner, Frankie has enough on her plate without worrying about the increasingly mean pranks being played at her family’s business. And the arrival of Sheriff Eric Linden, both devastatingly attractive and painfully taciturn, is enough to push her over the edge.

Linden, who didn’t seem to get the memo about men in uniform and Southern charm, is condescending and cold, revealing absolutely nothing about his past as an Atlanta police officer, while also making Frankie’s job as coroner as difficult as possible. And with the town’s Fourth of July celebration coming up, it’s essential for McCready’s to be cricket-free and in good working order. Strangling the sheriff will make her job even harder. Can Frankie hold off the threats to preserve her own sanity?

My Views

Harper’s books call to me on a level that I cannot ignore and definitely cannot deny. This particular series isn’t as long or evolved as Harper’s paranormal romances but her ability to make me laugh hasn’t dulled any. Franky is a cute character and Eric needs more story devoted to him because there’s potential in there, but the overall continuation of the story is interesting and, like I said, funny as hell. There is only one issue with the book and that is it is short. It is a novella and I expected that but it feels a little unfinished.

http://www.gothic-mansion-books.com/

Peachy Flippin Keen

Advertisements

Deathtrap (Crossbreed #3) by Dannika Dark

Author’s synopsis

For Raven Black, hunting criminals is second nature. So is denial. It’s not easy moving forward with one foot stuck in the past. But a new case offers her a much-needed distraction when Keystone accepts their toughest assignment yet—to track down an elusive criminal who’s selling children on the black market.

Their investigation leads them deep into the underbelly of the Breed world, a place both treacherous and enticing. With no room for mistakes, Raven makes a tough decision to lock the door to her past before it interferes with her job. The only trouble? Christian holds the key.

The stakes are high, and a shocking twist turns everything on its head. Will they catch this criminal before more lives are lost? Find out in the latest edge-of-your-seat instalment of the Crossbreed series.

My Views

Addictive; this is how I would describe this series and this story is no exception. The hint of romance between Raven and Christian is the perfect accompaniment to danger, adventure, and the multitude of breed issues that surround them. In this instalment, we really start to get to know other members of Keystone which only adds to the addictive quality of this series.

Raven is the kind of character you can forgive anything. She can act like an idiot but that’s okay because the reader already loves her. Christian getting on your nerves? You still want him to pair up with Raven. It’s the magical mixture of flawed human nature, vulnerability, and an exceptionally well-built world that lures us in and Dark is the master of this kind of chemistry. Yes, I am fangirling right now.

http://www.gothic-mansion-books.com/

Deathtrap

RNWMP Bride for Theodore (Mail Order Mounties #0.5) by Kirsten Osbourne

Author’s Synopsis

Jessica Sanderson knows what it means to love unconditionally. She has doted on the same man for over a decade, and she’s in her early twenties. When that man’s mother asks her to be her traveling companion, she gladly accepts. She doesn’t want to spend the rest of her life sitting in a bank, after all. When the plan changes to something a bit crazy, she drags her feet, but finally agrees, only to have her heart broken in two.

Theodore Hughes remembers Jessica from when they were younger, but he hasn’t given her a second thought in years. When she comes to visit him as his mother’s traveling companion, he’s shocked to find out what his mother has up her sleeve. It doesn’t take him long to think that his mother might be right. But could Jess give up the comforts of city life to be a Mountie’s wife? Or will they spend the rest of their lives alone?

My Views

This sweet romance is the beginning of a nice little series. Jess is a typical mail-order bride but Theo is a little more interesting. The story could do with some action in between Jess trying to show Theo how perfect a housewife she is and Theo eating like there’s no tomorrow but the story certainly sets up a whole host of new characters waiting for love.

http://www.gothic-mansion-books.com/

Bride for Theodore

The Fourth Sacrifice (The China Thrillers #2) by Peter May

Margaret’s heart is broken but unable to leave China she immerses herself in her work which happens to bring her in close quarters to Li Yan once more. His jealousy when she starts seeing an American archaeologist confuses her but things quickly become more complicated.

Li Yan really shines in this book and his complex personality, restricted by his work and the Chinese way, pushes through the boundaries. His personal troubles, heartbreak, and work mingle until he can’t see what is before him.

I am really enjoying this series as it gives a rare insight into a culture I know little about but I think Li Yan’s character really makes the story, and I can’t wait to read the next in the series. I highly recommend the audio version of this book because Forbes’ voice is a real treat to listen to, combine that with May’s poetic language and you have a winner.

http://www.gothic-mansion-books.com/

the fourth sacrifice

The Thief (Black Dagger Brotherhood #16) by J. R. Ward

Author’s Synopsis

Having allied themselves with the Band of Bastards, the Brotherhood is committed now more than ever to eradicating the Lessening Society. Recovering from their most recent battle against the last of the lessers, the Brotherhood comes to realize that the fight against their enemies is far from over.

Throe, Xcor’s former second in command, is using an ancient tome to summon a new army engineered by a force more dangerous and evil than the Omega.

And now the brothers of the Black Dagger Brotherhood will be tested both at home and on the battlefield.

My Views

This series just gets better: the vampires get hotter, the strong female leads get sassier, and the plot continually evolves into something more satisfying. Readers may be forgiven if they start to think of the Black Dagger world as real.

Sola may be a strong woman but her grandmother is stronger so when she’s called back into the danger zone how can she say no. It might destroy her but the chance to say goodbye to the love of her life is something she can’t deny. While Vishous’ life is spiralling into a dark abyss but with a new threat on the streets, he has no option but to deal with it the only way he can.

This latest instalment in the Black Dagger world made me laugh, cry, and feel completely lost when I’d finished it. Book hangovers have never been so prevalent; roll on the next instalment.

http://www.gothic-mansion-books.com/

the thief

The Story of Son by J. R. Ward

Author’s Synopsis

Held captive by a dark, seductive vampire with an unworldly hunger, the beautiful Claire Stroughton fears her life as a lawyer has irrevocably taken a turn for the worse. But when this deeply sensual-and highly dangerous-vampire convinces Claire that his desire for her is stronger than his lust for blood, she is compelled to give everything up to him, body and soul…

My Views

This delicious romance is reminiscent of the fairy tale Beauty and the Beast but in this story, the beast’s betrayal is not of his own doing. This story is set in the Black Dagger Brotherhood world but is not actually a part of their story and that works just fine because anyone can read this, but if you are a fan of the Black Dagger Brotherhood series, then you will love this book twice over.

Claire is a sweet character, but she’s also brimming with strength and Ward writes strong female leads like no other. Without giving any spoilers away I will just say that Son is one of the sweetest characters ever to be portrayed as a beast. This book is a tearjerker and completely addictive.

http://www.gothic-mansion-books.com/

The Story of Son

Dearest Ivie (Black Dagger Brotherhood #15.5) by J. R. Ward

Author’s Synopsis

The last place Ivie expects to be approached by a devastatingly handsome male is in a crowded, smoky cigar bar rarely frequented by vampires-yet here he stands. Silas is flirtatious, gallant, and, above all, mysterious. Ivie is anything but. A nurse at the healer’s clinic and the daughter of a biker, Ivie is accustomed to speaking her mind. So she does. Since aristocrats rarely pick up females of her class, Ivie asks Silas just what kind of game he thinks he’s playing.

Despite her guarded exterior, Ivie surrenders to the fierce desire she feels for Silas. And yet, just as their courtship is heating up, he reveals that it cannot last, for he is bound to return to the Old Country. Their bond only deepens as they make the most of their precious time together. But when she learns the truth, Ivie must find a saving grace-before all is lost. . .

My Views

Before settling down to read this book grab a box of tissues because you will cry, there is no escape. Ward is renowned for creating super-sexy characters and steamy hot bedroom scenes but don’t underestimate her ability to pull on your heartstrings.

Ivie is a strong female lead, and this is a common feature in Ward’s novels but if you are familiar with the Black Dagger series, you will love hearing from the other side. Ivie is a regular vamp without a title and designer wardrobe. Silas is your typical glymera hottie but with a vulnerable side that just makes the reader melt.

I’m hoping to see more additions like this to the Black Dagger world because I can’t get enough of it.

http://www.gothic-mansion-books.com/

dearest ivie